PM loses vote on Withdrawal Agreement for the second time

MPs have once again rejected Theresa May’s EU deal, with legal assurances on the hated backstop having failed to win over Conservative Brexiteer MPs or the DUP.

The crushing defeat saw MPs from across the House reject the withdrawal agreement by a resounding 391 to 242.

75 Conservative MPs voted against the deal as did the 10 DUP MPs.

It is another devastating blow to PM Theresa May who has been seeking to push a much maligned agreement that doesn’t contain a time-limit or unilateral exit clause to the EU’s £39 billion backstop trap.

The Attorney General Geoffrey Cox stated: “The legal risk remains unchanged that if through no such demonstrable failure of either party, but simply because of intractable differences, that situation does arise, the United Kingdom would have, at least while the fundamental circumstances remained the same, no internationally lawful means of exiting the Protocol’s arrangements, save by agreement.”

The PM said MPs will now get a vote on whether the UK should leave without a deal on 29 March and, if that fails, on whether Brexit should be delayed.

She stated Tory MPs will get a free vote on a no-deal Brexit meaning her colleagues can vote with their conscience rather than following the direction of the party whips.

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

© The New Briton 2020